Village Fireworks Laws: The 4th is Coming

Consumer Information on Ohio’s Fireworks Laws

Ohioans can legally discharge 1.4G consumer fireworks in Ohio on certain days UNLESS their local municipality (villages, cities, townships, or counties) has chosen to ban their use.  

What dates and times can consumers legally discharge 1.4G fireworks?
Unless limited by local laws, Ohioans can discharge consumer fireworks on the following dates and times:

  • New Year’s Day
  • Chinese New Year
  • Cinco de Mayo
  • Memorial Day weekend
  • Juneteenth
  • July 3, 4 and 5 as well as the first Friday, Saturday and Sunday before and after July 4
  • Labor Day weekend
  • Diwali, a festival of lights celebrated by Hindus, Sikhs and Jains
  • New Year’s Eve

Where can fireworks be discharged?
Consumers can discharge fireworks on their own property or on another person’s property if the owner of that property has given express permission for fireworks to be discharged. There must be at least a 150 foot separation distance from the point of discharge of each firework aerial shell to spectators and to the nearest point of any structure or building.